nystagmusmum

April 19, 2012

The world through wobbly eyes – a diary

Filed under: The world through wobbly eyes - a diary — by nystagmusmum @ 10:37 am

When I was a baby a doctor told my mum I was blind.  I wasn’t blind, of course, but I did have nystagmus.  Now I’m ten and I’ve still got nystagmus.  This is how I see the world through wobbly eyes …

We had to take one of our cats to the vet, because she had been in a fight and got some wounds on her leg.  He took her temperature (t-e-m-p-e-r-a-t-u-r-e –  you see!  I can spell that now!  And v-e-t-e-r-i-n-a-r-y!).  But the work experience girl couldn’t read the thermometer.  I don’t think there was anything wrong with her eyes.  Mum said it was because she was wearing too much mascara!  I want to do my work experience at the vet’s when I’m old enough, but I shall make sure that I can read the t-h-e-r-m-o-m-e-t-e-r before I go and I definitely won’t wear all that yucky mascara!

Extract of a diary first published in FOCUS magazine in December 2001.

Find out more about nystagmus from the Nystagmus Network.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.